Tarragona is a port city located in the north-east of Spain on the Mediterranean Sea. It is the capital of the Tarragona province, and part of the Tarragonès county and Catalonia region. Geographically, it is bordered on the north by the province of Barcelona and the province of Lleida. The city has a population of 132,199 (2014).

On 30th November 2000, the UNESCO committee decided to award the archaeological heritage of Tarraco with the status of World Heritage. This recognition represents a important achievement for Tarragona, as it guarantees the preservation of its monuments and enables them to be known about Internationally, as well as increasing the citizens' own interest and pride in their heritage.

On 15 October 2011, in the International Committee of the Mediterranean Games chose Tarragona as the site of the games in the year 2017. The Mediterranean Games are a sports character contest that is organized within the framework of the Olympic movement, with the recognition of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

The participation is established through the Olympic committees of each of the Member countries, which make up the International Committee of the Mediterranean Games (IMGC), in the geographical area of the Mediterranean.

Will be held from 30 June to 9 July in its 16 municipalities of the territory and will include 36 disciplines.

The games in the 10 days of competition lead in Tarragona and region:
•    4,000 athletes from 24 different nationalities.
•    1,000 judges and representatives of the International Federations and the International Committee of the games.
•    1,000 journalists from around the world.
•    3,500 volunteers to meet the needs of the organization.
•    More than 150,000 spectators.

The organizational structure will have an impact on the workplace premises:
•    More than 3,000 jobs indirectly
•    70 – 80 professionals direct the organizational structure of the games

The celebration of the Games will allow Tarragona bring together around the sport all levels of the city. From the Council in all areas of management, the Diputació de Tarragona, Generalitat de Catalunya and in particular the city's sports entities will work together to facilitate the organisation of the games model for the whole State and the cities of the Mediterranean at the time of the celebration of the games.

The Mediterranean Games are a series of sports competitions between athletes belonging to the different National Olympic Committees of the nations bathed by the Mediterranean (Asia, Africa and Europe).

The Mediterranean Games take place every 4 years, the year following the Olympic Games.

The symbol of the Mediterranean Games is 3 rings representing Asia, Africa and Europe, the 3 continents implicated in this competition. The rings dissolve in a wave at their base, as if immersed in the Mediterranean Sea. This symbol can be seen on the Mediterranean flag.

Powered by JS Network Solutions